Building Standards Commission

The Building Standards Commission was established in 1983 to provide a forum to hear and decide appeals of orders, decisions or determinations made by the building official relative to the application and interpretation of the City adopted Residential and Building Codes, Plumbing Codes, Mechanical Codes, National Electric Codes, and Existing Building Codes (including sub-standard structures).

The Building Standards Commission consists of eleven (11) members appointed by a majority vote of the mayor and city commissioners. The members are composed of residents of the city and shall consist of the following:

Two (2) building contractors

Two (2) electrical contractors

Two (2) plumbing contractors

Two (2) mechanical contractors

Three (3) city citizens

The city manager or his designated representative shall be an ex-officio member of the commission.

This board meets on the Third (3rd) Thursday each month, on an as needed basis.